• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 smokeandflames

smokeandflames

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 26 August 2016 - 10:04 PM

Need help and direction on performing a Salary and Benefits Comparison.  Currently I'm a Flight Paramedic in the Western US. We are evaluating our pay scale and benefits. Any direction would be helpful and appreciated. 

Methods to obtain other programs information?

How to present the information?

ect. 

#2 USDalum97

USDalum97

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 259 posts

Posted 27 August 2016 - 08:18 PM

This should really be done by your HR Department. The field employees probably know very little about conducting an actual compensation survey. What the average employee wants to know is "I heard the medics at the next flight program over get like $1.50 more per hour. That's so not fair because we do the same job in the same area and we should be paid more. How do we prove that we deserve a raise?" I'm not saying this is what is going on where you are, but I think it is the typical reason people bring up salary compensation surveys.

Comparing wages alone doesn't tell the whole picture. Are you prepared to find out the true cost of the benefits packages? What is the employers cost for your medical benefits? What is the employee's cost of medical benefits? Retirement match? Flex Spending account offered for medical or child care? Dental? Vision? Orthodontic care? Availability of adequate medical providers for different medical plans offered by different companies? Retention bonuses?