8 replies to this topic

#1 CVICURN

CVICURN

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 49 posts

Posted 12 July 2014 - 03:11 PM

Hey guys.  I find myself in need of perspective.  I am preparing myself for an interview with the local flight program.  From friends that work there, I know they have a panel interview with clinical scenario questions.  The problem is that I do not do as well as I'd like with these questions.  If I read the same question, I can answer immediately with what I would do.  There is something with hearing it that causes me to answer slower and often in a less organized manner.  Anyway, does anyone have any good techniques for preparing for these questions aside from having my girlfriend read them to me?  Are there any good resources out there with scenario questions I could use to practice?  I'm currently studying the Holleran book to strengthen my weak areas and to learn some of the new concepts unique to transport.  Any advice on how to respond in a more concise and coherent manner would be appreciated.  I welcome any general interview advice as well.  Thanks!

#2 medic4cqb

medic4cqb

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 308 posts

Posted 12 July 2014 - 07:33 PM

Funny, for me panel-type interviews aren't as stressful as test taking.  I'd rather explain answers verbally, because I can better put those types of questions into words. I love to write and can kind of be a bit wordy in explaining things I feel warrant a thorough explaination. I think you have the right idea in mind, by having your girlfriend drill you with scenario questions. I would add having a co-worker drill you with questions as well, because answering to someone you're more familiar with won't give you that same level of intensity as the real mccoy. Don't over think your answers to dig yourself into a ditch. You have the credentials and experience, let that and your personality sell you to the team. Good bro!

Steve A., RN, CCRN, EMT-P