• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 cparker

cparker

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 02 October 2012 - 08:51 PM

Hi everyone, I'm new here. Ever since I graduated nursing school I've wanted to work in flight nursing. I'm coming up on 5 years of experience (mostly travel assignments) including ICU, NICU, CCU and PACU. I'm ACLS and BLS certified. I was hoping someone here could point me in the right direction of what certifications I still need to meet flight nursing requirements. Also, is my experience enough, and if not, what areas or length of time do you guys recommend? Thank you in advance for any input.

-Chris

#2 Jwade

Jwade

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1405 posts

Posted 02 October 2012 - 09:34 PM

Hi everyone, I'm new here. Ever since I graduated nursing school I've wanted to work in flight nursing. I'm coming up on 5 years of experience (mostly travel assignments) including ICU, NICU, CCU and PACU. I'm ACLS and BLS certified. I was hoping someone here could point me in the right direction of what certifications I still need to meet flight nursing requirements. Also, is my experience enough, and if not, what areas or length of time do you guys recommend? Thank you in advance for any input.

-Chris

Chris,

Couple of things.

1. Do a search of the forums, there are many previous threads on this exact subject with excellent information in them. You will find all your questions answered.

2. There is no such thing as being CERTIFIED in ACLS or BLS, those cards only show you met the minimum requirements for knowledge level.

3. You should have taken NRP being in the NICU?

The things you have to ask yourself are you comfortable with Vent management on your own, blood gases interpretation on your own, balloon pumps, scene work, etc..........Maybe you can detail a little more as to what exactly your travel assignments consisted of, length of time, acuity, etc....

JW
John Wade MBA, CCEMT-P, FP-C, RN