4 replies to this topic

#1 CVICURN

CVICURN

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 49 posts

Posted 22 May 2012 - 11:52 PM

Hey all, I just accepted my first position in transport. I'll be doing inter-facility CC transports as a RN. I've never worked outside of a hospital before, any advice for me? I worked a couple years in a CVCIU and am currently working in shock trauma. I've not earned my EMT yet, but class starts in August. I'm hoping that this experience will be a good stepping stone into rotorwing or fixed wing transports. Thanks for the help.

#2 old school

old school

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1121 posts

Posted 04 June 2012 - 02:50 PM

Take the time to learn your protocols and policies well. Even once you know those things, keep references handy and know what to look up where. A smartphone or tablet is perfect for this, but a plain old binder with a calculator stuffed in the pocket works fine, too.

Make it a point to get to know your medical director and/or medical control docs a little. Not to kiss up, but because when the time comes for you to use your judgement in a complicated scenario, they need to know your not an idiot.

Take the time to learn your ambulance and equipment inside and out. This sounds like a no-brainer, but you'd be surprised how many in transport can't find things in their own vehicles and can't troubleshoot their vents or pumps or onboard air conditioners and oxygen systems and stretchers. Don't be that guy.