• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Dave Sharpe

Dave Sharpe

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 February 2009 - 07:47 AM

I am a former flight nurse (with some management experience in that role) and former ground CCT nurse now living and working in a small rural community hospital in Washington State. We currently use the local HEMS program frequently for transfers - both ermegent or non-emergent, but frequently have weather issues forcing us to use ground medics. Our hospital currently has no plan in place to utilize nursing staff for such transports, relying on the hospital-based medics to handle everything. On occasion, we have sent a hospital RT along if the pt is vented (sounds like the 80's all over again, eh?) I've been proposing setting up a ground CCT program but need help in getting started. Specifically, I'd like input in a coouple of areas:

1. Billing - hos are ground CCT programs reimbursed in comparison to ALS transfers? Are there special billing codes you can share with me? (I've had no luck getting my hospital billing department to track this down - no one here has even heard of CCT)
2. Standing orders - I'd like to get some copies of standing transport orders used by other programs to adapt for our needs.
3. Documentation - how do you chart care provided enroute? I'd be einterested in seeing samples of charting forms used by other programs.

If you can help, please email me direct at dave@infoservice.com. I'd really appreciate any and all input.

Dave Sharpe

#2 nursemedic

nursemedic

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 258 posts

Posted 10 February 2009 - 12:03 AM