14 replies to this topic

#1 Irishflyer5

Irishflyer5

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 23 August 2007 - 04:42 PM

Hello,
I am new to Flightweb, so apologize if theis topic has been covered already.
I have been speaking to a great number of fire departments in the area where I work (northern Illinois) and there seems to be an increase in questions as to whether or not we can help with Search and Rescue Operations. Specifically, the FD's are having trouble finding victims as the corn around here gets taller. An example being a small plane goes down in a field: they would like to know if we could fly over the field, find the plane, hover over it until rescue crews can get to it, then land in an LZ they have set up for us so we can transport the victim.
They tell me Coast Guard around here usually takes up to an hour to an hour and a half to respond, and the only other helicopter that does this is all volunteer: so they may or may not be able to respond.
Are there any flight programs that aid with S&R? <_<

#2 k9medic

k9medic

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 23 August 2007 - 10:20 PM

The big issue is if S&R is included in the EMS helicopters ops specs. Some are, but most are not. We generally referred those types of flights to law enforcement aircraft.
"The best technique is the one that is never noticed"

#3 nosleep4r

nosleep4r

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 23 August 2007 - 10:39 PM

There are some specific programs in the area that will provide the service, but as with everything it is program specific. I'm not sure how far North you are, but there is a couple programs in Wisconsin that I utilize. If you send me a e-mail, I would be happy to Help. As far as the Coast Guard, last I checked, they have an Aircraft in your area during the summer months, but are based uear round in Traverse City, MI. I have used them in the past as well and they will respond, but it takes a bit. ....

Good luck..

RB
CCEMTP, NREMTP

#4 Bob Steinbauer

Bob Steinbauer